Network Portal FAQs

Review the following frequently asked questions (FAQs) for the Network Portal.

General FAQs

How much does the Network Portal cost?

The Network Portal is included with your Customer Master license. Also, there is no additional charge for adding users to use Network or the Network Portal.

Who has access to the Network Portal?

Administrators determine who has access to the Network Portal and specific applications. For more information, see Network Portal settings and permissions.

Can Veeva CRM users access the Network Portal?

Any user within your organization that has a Network user account can access the Network Portal. They can sign in using SSO or a username/password. There is no additional cost per user if you have a Network license.

How can I test the Network Portal or an application?

  • Network Portal - Use Preview Mode if your Network Portal is not enabled. Preview mode enables you to test the Network Portal and the Search Accounts application with full functionality.

  • Applications - Assign the application to yourself first if you are creating a brand new one. Then once it is ready, you can change the permissions accordingly.

How can users log into the Network Portal?

There are several ways that different user types can sign into the Network Portal:

  • All users (except Integration Users) - Go to the Portal URL for your Network instance and sign in using your Network username and password or using single sign-on (SSO).

  • Single sign-on users - Administrators can create a linked application/bookmark application in your single sign-on provider so users can sign in through there to the Network Portal. For more information, see Network Portal SSO support.

  • Network users (Standard Users, Data Stewards, Data Managers, System Administrators, and System and Data Admins) - Sign into the Network UI and click the Network Portal link on the Network menu bar.

Applications using Search widgets

These questions apply to Network Portal applications that use a Search widget.

How can I make search applications read-only (ensure users cannot submit DCRs)?

You can prevent users from submitting add requests in the search widget configuration. For both add requests and edits, if users are assigned to a data visibility profile that has read-only permissions for that country, they will not be able to edit or add new records.

How can I make the application only search for accounts within Network (not Veeva OpenData)?

This can be controlled through the data visibility profile. For each country, you can specify whether the Can search OpenData Instance permission is set to True or False.

What countries can users search against?

Country access depends on the data visibility profiles that a user is assigned to. In the Network Portal, users can open their User Settings to see what countries they can access.

How can I see only active records in the search application?

In the Search widget configuration, set a Background Search Filter to filter the results to display active records only. For example, to display only active HCPs, set the following BackGround Search Filter: hcp.hcp_status__v=A”. See Creating a Network Portal application for more details.